Goodbye President Bush…

president_bush

Dear President Bush,

          To say that the last few years have been chaotic would be a gross understatement. Your presidency has seen the worst terrorist attack our country has ever seen, and a collapse of the economic infrastructure that we could never have anticipated. It has seen a long and heavily debated war, and a series of policies that are party favored to say the least. But I just wanted to say one thing. Thank you. Thank you for making decisions instead of towing the line and trying to please everyone. Thank you for showing steadfast character even when your approval ratings were as low as the sunken Atlantis, and thank you for continually entertaining me while you ran things with your never ending supply of Bushisms and verbal foibles.

          Tonight you made your farewell address. It will go down, at least to me, as one of the best speeches I have ever heard. I want you to know that I prayed for you regularly over the past 8 years and even though I didn’t agree with most of what you were doing, I supported you none-the-less. You will not go down in history as being a bad man, or a bad president, rather I will teach my kids that you were a man that held the title of president during a bad time in our country’s story. You did what few could have done, and so I write this, and send you off in peace. It is with my best wishes I wish you well in the future and tell you that I will always pray for you and your family. Thank you for being my president, and God bless you forever and always. 

~ by Tim Kurek on January 16, 2009.

6 Responses to “Goodbye President Bush…”

  1. Thanks for this post. I’ve been praying for President Bush too. I feel for him and hope this next phase of his life will be one of personal joy and peace.

  2. Amen. I’ll never demonize one of our presidents. Because they have the absolute toughest job on the planet, under the most scrutiny. He’s kept our country safe for 7 years. That counts.

    Jordan.
    http://www.theriverjordan.net
    [gotta new blog posted, as well as a new format. Check it out and tell me how you like!]

  3. I’m an idiot… I tried to comment rudely about a kid’s comment and this is what I get. Go Obama!!! I love him!

  4. I love President Bush. Thanks for this post. I hope that he reads it and know that there are a few of us who supported him, through the good times and the bad.

  5. new here. we’re new followers on twitter.

    i agree, Mr. Bush had an extremely tough run. it breaks my heart when people turn against people. and they sure did turn against him. and my guess is…people will turn against Obama when they find out he cant, or wont, do everything he promised. its a vicious cycle.

    i pray that Obama isnt hit with as much as Bush was. i pray he has an easier run.

    great letter!

  6. Thanks for checking out my blog! I appreciate the comment! I’ll check out your blog too, for sure..

Leave a Reply

 
