To everyone that has commented…

          Right now I’m sitting back in wonder at the comments and responses I have gotten from people who tell me that I don’t know my God and am going to hell. That’s a judgment that seems to get thrown around a lot by certain Christians. I used to be one of them. I would flip around TBN or watch the “Prophet” infomercials on late night tv, shake my head and call them heretics, false prophets, and of Satan. I used to throw those words around so casually because I didn’t know the burden that came with them. When you speak, your words never die. That’s why the tongue is so potentially dangerous. We find that all throughout James, and many other books talking about watching what we say. But then a friend woke me up to a much more sobering reality. We can use those words on people who are speaking heresies, i.e. “Jesus is not God“, saying “you can get to heaven by being a good person“, or that “it’s about you in this life.” In these examples and many other instances we are commanded to use those words and to point fingers at false prophets. But if those words are thrown at someone who merely interprets scripture in a different way, and God is with that person, the judger is in danger more than the judged.

          But… this is what I pray some of you will truly think about… Everything we see, perceive, and believe are for the most part interpretations of those things. A scientific study I saw once said that the eyeball sees things uniquely. That means that what is blue to me may be red to another and green to another, but its labeled blue even though its perceived differently by the eye. Another thing physical that deals with our perception is our ear. We have a bone in our inner ear that prevents us from hearing our own voices the way they really sound. I wish I could credit our spiritual differences to a bone, but its much more complicated than that. And don’t even get me started on the brain. Everyone has differing opinions and most of them concern religion or politics.

          When I write about Jesus so casually and try to attach humor to him, its not because I am trying to make him less than 100% God. It’s that I am trying to show that he was also 100% human. The Bible is complete, but do you think Jesus’ entire life, list of miracles, conversations, etc, are encompassed there? I don’t think so. I believe that there were certain things Jesus did that were special moments for the person he ministered to, or were special memories for the disciples. These things were not needed in scripture. I also believe that God created humor, and I whole heartedly believe that Jesus was a funny man. A philosopher name Anais Nin once said that “We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.” I wish people lived this quote more because it is entirely biblical. Yes Jesus is the way to heaven but the Bible also says “Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.” Philippians 2:12-13 I’m merely trying to work mine out based off the way I perceive what I’ve learned in the word and what I’ve seen in my short time on earth.

          I also wonder how everyone’s interpretation of scripture can be “right” on here, and yet mine can be so wrong? I think the comments made by most on my blogs have carried so much pride and arrogance with them. Even mine at times. I don’t know the hearts of those writing so I won’t call names and argue. The simple fact is that I believe differently than the people directed to my site through Reformata, Slice of Laodicea, etc… Those are fundamentalist sites and while I have fundamental beliefs, I act more emerging. And all of these are just labels after all. I’m only human after all, and I could be wrong.

          Can we agree to disagree? Or will I have to sit back and read comment after comment of so many people that are “right”? You are my brothers and sisters in Christ, and I love you guys. I wish we could have an honest, productive dialogue, and not a war of words. We need to show the world a holy Jesus that is wholly God and wholly human. That is what I believe the gospels are about and that is why the atonement is so amazing. We have access to God through the fullness of Christ realized on the cross! How incredible is that!

~ by Tim Kurek on October 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
